The National Moravian-Silesian Theatre
Oct 19, 2022
The National Moravian-Silesian Theatre (based in 1919) is the biggest and oldest professional theatre in Ostrava and in the Moravian-Silesian region. At the same time is the biggest cultural institution established by the statutory city of Ostrava. Theatre performs regularly on three permanent scenes – at the Antonín Dvořák Theatre (seating capacity of 517), at the Jiří Myron Theatre (seating capacity of 623), and at the Theatre "12" (seating capacity of 60).
Antonín Dvořák Theatre Jiří Myron Theatre Theatre "12"

The National Moravian-Silesian Theatre is the only theatre in Moravia, which has four artistic companies:
The theatre presents about 20 premieres per year and plays almost 500 performances. The National Moravian-Silesian Theatre organises the festival of drama theatres OST-RA-VAR and the event European Opera Days in Ostrava. The theatre also participates in biennial NODO/New Opera Days Ostrava. 
The City of Ostrava, with more than 320 000 inhabitants, is situated in the northeastern part of the Czech Republic which is a landlocked country in Central Europe, member state of the European Union. The capital is Prague, official currency is koruna (CZK). Ostrava is the third largest city in the Czech Republic and the second largest urban agglomeration after Prague. The City of Ostrava as the founder of the National Moravian-Silesian Theatre operates as its most significant donor. In addition, the Moravian-Silesian Region and the Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic are two other significant donors of the theatre.